When Facebook Rocks the Cradle…

ANY CHARACTER HERE

My friend tells me she has something to show me on facebook. Immediately, I’m excited, because I think it’s going to be fantastically awful engagement photos. We like to chuckle at the cheesy ones; sadly it’s sometimes the highlight of our day (grad school does that to ya!).

ANY CHARACTER HERE

She pulls up the pics. There’s a family with a newborn baby. I’m looking at the pics and say “WHOA! What’s wrong with the baby?” Chromosomal abnormality? No, because that would make sense! What’s wrong you ask? It’s dead! It’s a dead effin baby! It’s a dead effin baby on fb! What, in the name of all things normal, would possess people to put clothes on a stillborn baby and take family photos? Your guess is as good as mine.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

I realize some things are okay with a baby, that just doesn’t fly with adults…but this certainly isn’t one of them. Baby shitting in diaper? okay! Old person shitting in diaper? ew. Baby puke? No prob! 22 year old puke? DISGUSTING! Dead baby family photos? Weird, not okay, on any level…EVER! Dead grandparent family photos? would never cross anyone’s mind.  At some point, the default “awww, but it’s a baby” just doesn’t cut it.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Taking stillborn baby family photos is one  thing, which I have yet to figure out, but posting them on facebook for the world to see is a whole nother thing I’m still trying to figure out.

Who raised these people? Seriously.

5 responses to “When Facebook Rocks the Cradle…

  1. In the 19th century and probably early 20th century, it was common practice to dress up and photograph the dead.

    As for the baby thing, well, I have never lost a child so I can’t imagne to begin to think what the grief must be like or why it would possess sometone to do something like that. I think I have more pity or sympathy for those people than disgust.

  2. It was also once a common practice for people to be bled with leeches to get rid of diseases.

    I agree, the death of a child cannot be easy for any parent. I’m sure the family was very sad. I was sorry for their loss, however I thought what they did was quite bizarre. Since this blog is about weird/crazy/bizarre things, it willl probably come off as devoid of emotions/sympahty/etc in situations where that is normal. I will say when you first see somthing like what the post is about, pity and sympathy are not the first things that come to mind.

    Thanks for reading 🙂

    • Oh, I won’t argue it’s bizarre! 🙂 I just long ago stopped questioning others’ grieving response. I imagine losing a child can cause … a mental break of some sort?

      And, would you believe they still use leeches in legitimate, modern, Western medicine? Not necessarily for the same purposes as before, but they are still used. That could be a good topic for a post for you!

  3. I think I can understand why a person would take a photo of their stillborn baby (or maybe I should say I can sympathize, since I’ve never had to go through that). I would want some form of memory preserved of the child for whom I’d been waiting, some way to remember the baby I’d been expecting. I don’t know if that would really need to be the result of a mental break. Photos of a live baby would obviously be preferable, and definitely more “normal,” but if the baby was stillborn, they also obviously wouldn’t have had that option.

    I’ll be honest – I don’t know what the photos look like, and I don’t know how they were posted. I’ll admit that I’m a bit squeamish when it comes to dead people, so maybe my first reaction would have been that I didn’t want to see that. But I don’t think that really entitles me to pass judgment on them.

    • This post was about my initial reaction to the pictures that were posted on facebook. I 100% understand the family wanting to preserve a memory. I also realize that I will never know what emotions they were experiencing, since I have never been through such a situation. But it was and still is a pretty bizarre and weird thing to post on facebook, in my opinion.

      Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

