Vegan Black Bean Soup

mmmmmm Avocado!

The weather is starting to cool down here in Pittsburgh. To get myself ready for fall, I decided to make some vegan black bean soup. Yum! I used a modified version of the recipe found here. It’s a pretty easy recipe that can be made vegan or non-vegan (switch the broth and sour cream). The hardest part is chopping the veggies. That task was given to my boyfriend; he’s so helpful. I apologize because I don’t have pictures of the entire process. It didn’t cross my mind to blog this recipe until after the cooking was finished.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5-2 c black beans (this is after preparing dried beans, not sure of the canned equivalent)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • ½ of an onion, chopped
  • ½ of green pepper, chopped
  • ½ of jalapeno pepper, chopped
  • ½ tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp cilantro (add this at the very end)
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • dash of taste
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (no salt added)
  • 2 c water
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • frozen corn
  • avocado
  • sour cream

Ready, Set, Cook!

  1. Sauté the onions and green peppers in olive oil. I let them carmelize because the flavor is amazing.
  2. Mix in the tomatoes and jalapeno peppers.
  3. Add the black beans.
  4. Transfer everything to a large pot and bring to a boil. Reduce and let simmer for about 45 minutes
  5. I like a thicker, yet still brothy soup, so I spooned out 2/3c and pureed it in a blender then returned it to the pot.
    Repeat once. Let cook for the remaining 45 minutes.
  6. Add the frozen corn.
  7. Add the cilantro ( I use the frozen cilantro cubes from Trader Joes).
  8. Garnish, Serve, Eat & Enjoy!

    Garnished with avocado and vegan sour cream

4 responses to “Vegan Black Bean Soup

  1. This looks good. I will give this try (taste). Were you happy with the end results?

  2. I have to say that you provided me with one more recipe that my “picky” kid will eat. I have an 11 year old girl who decided a while back that she is a vegetarian. She goes to great length to keep up this charade, even sending everybody PETA animal rights email alerts. (Yes, allowing her to do this is yet another sign of poor parenting.) But in fact, she is not a vegetarian, she is a JUNK-aterian. She had been used to eating only junk food, cheese and potatoes. When she learned that gelatin was made of animal by-products it put her PETA resolve to the test. When she also found out that most junk food companies do animal testing (from PETA, I should take her computer away), she was reduced to only eating potatoes and cheese. (BTW, I’m not sure why junk food companies actually test their products. It’s not like they are interested in making it safe for humans.)

    Normally, she wouldn’t even touch black beans, but in light of the dilemma I thought I’d give this a shot. And guess what? She likes it. (Given that she’s a preen, “like” is a 5 star endorsement.) It is a terrific recipe. I’l be back for more. Thanks.

  3. I’m so glad your daughter enjoyed the recipe :) Although I’m vegan, I do tend to take the anti-PETA stance. It’s probably annoying getting emails about PETA, but I bet you’re proud your daughter is able to think outside of herself and her environment (at such a young age) and develop her own ethical approach to life. If she’s grows out of it, you can look back when she is older and laugh.

    I will definitely be posting more recipes. There will hopefully be some that you can use.

Leave a Reply

